Certification – A-Z of Coaching & Mentoring

about us hero image

A – Z Coaching and Mentoring – This week’s extract highlights ‘Certification’ in coaching.

Don’t forget if you have a special request for a definition of a coaching term or principle, just let us know! Perfect for anyone studying for an ILM Coaching & Mentoring qualification, or as a refresher for experienced coaches.



Certification for coaches is widely available and can be accessed through a huge variety of training providers, professional bodies and universities. The majority of certifications are robust and well regarded, although the coaching industry isn’t regulated and some organisations or training providers won’t recognise the certifications of others. This has created somewhat of a minefield and it is worth undertaking extensive research before choosing the certification that will suit you best.
For example, some training providers’ certificates aren’t recognised for membership and accreditation of some professional coaching bodies and some professional membership bodies will only recognised their own certification.
In order to have a coaching qualification with transferable credits between learning courses, educational institutions and occupations, the qualification must be accredited through one of qualification awarding bodies in the UK. These are regulated by Ofqual in England, DCELLS in Wales, CCEA in Northern Ireland and SQA (Scottish Qualifications Authority) in Scotland. Many (but not all) coach certifications in the UK are recognised in this way.
Here are the main routes for achieving QCF accredited coaching certification (ofqual.gov.uk) in the UK:
  • Colleges, universities or training providers accredited with City & Guilds.
  • Universities offering BA, BSc, MA or MSc degrees in coaching.
  • Colleges, universities or training providers offering Chartered Management Institute (CMI) coaching programmes.
  • Colleges, universities or training providers offering Institute of Leadership & Management (ILM) coaching programmes.
  • Defence Awarding Organisation (DAO)
  • Qulaifi
  • CPCAB (Counselling & Psychotherapy Central Awarding Body)
  • SFEDI Awards
  • Institute of Sales Management (ISMM)
  • Mineral Produce Qualifications Council (MPQC)
  • Agored Cymru
  • Aim Awards
The Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) is the national system of study units which have credit value. The national credit transfer system consists of eight levels:

Taken from the A-Z Coaching Handbook by Clare Smale where you will find a comprehensive A-Z, plus a full list of references.

Contact us for your copy or order through our website. Click here to find out more about ILM Qualifications.

View Blog Categories

Contact Clare and the i2l team

Still not sure if we’re the right training provider for you?

Speak to one of our team to find out more.

Stay updated

More Posts

Active Listening

My Strategy For Surviving Coronavirus – A Business Perspective

Barriers to Coaching

The different ILM coaching and mentoring courses – which one is best for you?

The FISH!™ Philosophy

DISC Personality Styles

What Makes a Good Leader

Inspired2learn banner 1

Wait! Before you leave, grab your FREE copy of the A-Z Coaching Handbook. It's packed with insights and strategies that can transform your coaching skills. Download it now and start your journey to becoming an expert coach!"